2020-02-07 20:45:00

Luca Buratto, the no ordinary virtuoso at Fazioli Concert Hall

Winner of the 2015 edition of the Honens International Piano Competition in Calgary, his playing stands out for its “fiery imagination and finesse” (Musical America). He has long been described as “a name to watch” (The Guardian) and “no ordinary virtuoso” (The Telegraph). The periodical International Piano defined his playing as “masterly”, and his highly acclaimed interpretations of the prolific British composer Thomas Adès further reveal the versatility of “an artist that is as illuminating as he is fearless” (ConcertoNet).
Recent appearances include solo recitals and orchestral concerts in prestigious venues such as Wigmore Hall in London, Carnegie Hall in New York, Berlin’s Konzerthaus, and the Victoria Concert Hall in Singapore, to mention but a few.
At home as a soloist or performing in recitals, he has participated at festivals and residencies from the “Martha Argerich Project” of the Lugano Festival to the Swiss Verbier festival.
Studying under Davide Cabassi and Edda Ponti, in 2010 he graduated from the Conservatorio di Milano, then completing a master’s at the Conservatorio di Bolzano. He was a Theo Lieven Scholar at the Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana in Lugano, under the guidance of William Grant Naborè, becoming a Master of Advanced Studies.

… alongside the risk-taker and brilliant colourist there lurks a poet.

The Telegraph

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART (Salzburg, 1756  – Vienna, 1791)
Sonata n. 13 in si bemolle maggiore, K. 333
- Allegro
- Andante cantabile
- Allegretto grazioso

MAURICE RAVEL (Ciboure, 1875  – Parigi, 1937)
Le Tombeau de Couperin
Prélude - Vif
Dedica: tenente Jacques Charlot
Fugue - Allegro moderato
Dedica: sottotenente Jean Cruppi
Forlane - Allegretto
Dedica: tenente Gabriel Deluc
Rigaudon - Assez vif
Dedica: Pierre et Pascal Gaudin
Menuet - Allegro moderato
Dedica: Jean Dreyfus
Toccata - Vif
Dedica: capitano Joseph de Marliav


THOMAS ADÈS (Londra, 1971)
Variations for Blanca

JOHANNES BRAHMS (Amburgo, 1833 – Vienna, 1897)
Venticinque variazioni e fuga in si bemolle maggiore per pianoforte, op. 24
su un tema di Georg Friedrich Händel