Antonio Ballista | Bruno Canino

2018-04-06 20:45:00


duo pianistico a quattro mani


Four-hands Piano Duo

It was 1956 when the Neapolitan Bruno Canino and the Milanese Antonoi Ballista, both 20, played together in front of an audience for the very first time. Their long partnership can and must be considered “a milestone of 20th century music”, because of its substantial contribution to musical culture, tirelessly spreading the concepts and potentials of the Piano Duo. Apart from having played a crucial role in giving concert dignity to historic transcripts, Canino and Ballista have worked next to avantgardes, collaborating with the greatest contemporary composers: Dallapiccola, Berio, Ligeti, Kagel, until Boulez and Stockhausen. Numerous are the works expressly composed for them by these legendary composers. At the same time, the two Maestros have always maintained a faithful approach to tradition, understanding past and present as a “historic continuum, where humanist/humanistic values prevail above all else” (Rattalino). The programme with which the Duo will celebrate their 60 years of career appropriately starts with “Notre amitié est invariable” by Franz Schubert, to continue with some of the most beloved works of the four-hands repertory.

… Sixty years after its foundation, we can talk about the Canino-Ballista Duo as an ensemble of historical relevance.

Piero Rattalino

Concerto celebrativo dei sessant’anni di attività del Duo Canino - Ballista
per pianoforte a quattro mani

FRANZ SCHUBERT (Vienna, 1797 – 1828)

Rondò “Notre amitié est invariabile”, op. post. 138-D608

FRANZ LISZT (Raiding, 1811 – Bayreuth, 1886)

Da “L’arbre de Noël”:
-    Carillon Antico
-    Canto provenzale del Natale
-    Natale ungherese

RICHARD WAGNER (Lipsia, 1813 – Venezia, 1883)

Ouverture del Tannhäuser (Trascrizione di Hans von Bülow)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK (Nelahozeves, 1841 – Praga, 1904)

Danza slava op. 46 n. 1, in do maggiore
Danza slava op. 46 n. 6, in la bemolle maggiore
Danza slava op. 46 n. 8, in sol minore

JOHANNES BRAHMS (Amburgo, 1833 – Vienna, 1897)

Danza ungherese n. 2, in re minore
Danza ungherese n. 3, in fa maggiore
Danza ungherese n. 5, in fa diesis minore
Danza ungherese n. 9, in mi minore
Danza ungherese n. 6, in re bemolle maggiore