Yontov | Quartetto Adorno

2017-11-17 20:45:00

A student of Arie Vardi at the University of Tel Aviv and then at the Yale School of Music, the 28-year-old Yevgeny Yontov is among the finalists of the last edition of the “Arthur Rubinstein” Piano Competition, where he was awarded as Best Israeli Pianist and for the Best Chamber Music Performance. Recently, Yevgeny has given life to a concert season in New Haven (Connecticut) and founded the Icarus Quartet, made up of two pianists and two percussionists, through which he aims at “telling a coherent story starting from the most diverse elementsand presenting famous compositions under a new perspective”. Only a few days after his success in Tel Aviv, the Adorno Quartet, chamber ensemble born within the « Scuola di Musica di Fiesole », gathered a number of acknowledgements at the Paolo Borciani Prize in Reggio Emilia, one of the most prestigious competitions for string quartet, winning the Third Prize, the Audience Prize and the Prize for the Best Performance of a Contemporary Piece. At our invitation, these young musicians have promptly accepted to meet in Sacile for the first time, almost diving into an exciting and intense chamber music workshop.

The instruments of the Adorno Quartet: violin Carlo Bergonzi “Mischa Piastro” 1739, kindly lent by the Pro Canale Foundation; violin Romeo Antoniazzi del 1912; viola F.lli (Brothers) Guastalla of 1928; cello Giuseppe Sgarbi of 1880.



Israeli pianist and fellow CMNW Protege Project Artist Yevgeny Yontov, captured this compelling ambiguity beautifully, with an intense maturity that I would not usually expect of such young musicians.

Matthew Neil Andrews, Oregon Artswatch

They play with one mind, beauty of sound, intonation, precision and wonderful musical ideas and expression.

Geraldine Walther (Takács Quartet) sul Quartetto Adorno

DMITRIJ ŠOSTAKOVIČ (San Pietroburgo, 1906 – Mosca, 1975)

Quintetto per pianoforte ed archi in sol minore, op. 57
I.    Prelude: Lento – Poco più mosso – Lento
II.    Fugue: Adagio
III.    Scherzo: Allegretto
IV.    Intermezzo: Lento  
V.    Finale: Allegretto

JOHANNES BRAHMS (Amburgo, 1833 – Vienna, 1897)

Quintetto per pianoforte ed archi in fa minore, op. 34
I.        Allegro non troppo
II.        Andante, un poco Adagio
III.        Scherzo: Allegro
IV.        Finale: Poco sostenuto - Allegro non troppo